top of page

Dr. Klaus Miehling


Klaus Miehling was born on 24. 8. 1963 in Stuttgart (Germany) and received a diploma in early music (harpsichord) in 1988 from the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis. In 1993 he earned his doctorate in musicology, art history and auxiliary sciences of history from the University of Freiburg im Breisgau.

He is the author of several books as well as of numerous essays mostly on historical performance practice. 

His work list contains in 353 opus numbers (march 2023) 1.323 compositions, vocal and instrumental, for historical as well as for modern instruments. So far he was a finalist or prize winner with 20 compositions at contests in Belgium, Italy, the USA, Germany, Great Britain, Canada and Spain.

Miehlings works have been edited by the Publishers Goldbach, Merseburger, Moeck, Tonger and Walhall, on,,,  and Klaus Miehling lives as a freelance musician and musicologist in Freiburg im Breisgau / Germany.

Concerto in d, op. 353 (2023)

After the concerti in F major (op. 30, 1990), also for baroque instruments, and e minor (op. 100, 2004), for modern instruments, this is my third violin concerto and the first to be performed.

It is quite conventional in having three movements with the sequence fast – slow – fast:

1. Allegro mà non troppo, C

2. Largo, 3/4 (in Bb major, with a simple bass ostinato at the beginning and at the end)

3. Allegro assai, 6/8

The concerto is also conventional in its style; the best way to compose for baroque instruments is probably – to compose baroque music. There is still much to say in this language.

bottom of page